Caddo Magnet Players


ITS Induction

The Candle Ceremony for ITS Induction was Tuesday, April 24th at 6:00 p.m. in the PAC.  Many of our incoming freshmen were inducted alongside our new upperclassmen. As well as the new members of ITS, the new council were inducted into office for the next school year. 

Senior Circle

Senior Circle was Tuesday, May 1st.This was a time for seniors to say goodbye to their fellow Caddo Magnet Players.  No mater how involved each of the seniors were throughout their years, they were invited to come and share how they were impacted by the department over the years. Each senior had 9 minutes to say goodbye and thank people who have touched their lives.  Here is the list of seniors we said good bye to this past spring:

Tara Butler     Joy Cezar     Amanda-Marie Davis     Jackson Gilchrist     Caity Hatchett

Allison Huffty     Summer Jones     Eric Kirton     Scott Martin     Matthew McClure

Kyle McGoldrick     Marshall Merritt     Duke Pierce     Samantha Staggs     London Todd

Victoria Wells     Alea Wheelhouse

Drama Banquet – theme – The Oscars

Drama Banquet will be on Saturday, May 5th at the Eastridge Country Club from 7-11 p.m.  Families are welcomed!  Tickets are $30 each and include a lovely meal.  Awards will be given for Acting and Technical achievements.  Seniors will get their graduation cords.  There is a dance at the end of the awards ceremonies.  We want all students who want to attend to get to come.  A parent has offered to pay for 5 extra students.  Please see me if you need to have one of these places.  Tickets will be available beginning Tuesday, April 17th and MUST be purchased by April 27th.  Please make checks out to THE DRAMA GUILD  not CMHS!  Formal or theme appropriate attire.

Fringe Festival

For information about the trip please see the attached presentation.  APAI 2019 Powerpoint Presentation

For to accompany your $100 deposit APAI Fringe 2019 Registration Form pdf


State Festival Results

The Caddo Magnet Players attended the International Thespian Society Louisiana State Festival.  63 students and 8 parent/chaperones attended.  There were 24 Troupes in attendance from all over the State;   700 students in all.  Kate Howell, State Board Representative for 2016-17 helped to lead the festival with her 5 counterparts from around the state.

At their state festival professionals from nationals votes for a single one-act to represent their state at Nationals in June.
Duke Pierce directed a smash hit one act starring Brody Tolliver and Carter Rimmer. Received a standing ovation at performance.   Down Came The Rain was chosen to be the Chapter Select production at Nationals representing Louisiana.  Congratulations to director Duke Pierce and performers extraordinaire Brody Tolliver and Carter Rimmer 
Each school can take up to five acts for both performance and technical Individual Events.

In Individual Events: 

Carter Rimmer received superior in Monologue

Kate Howell and Theresa Johnson recieved superior in Solo Musical.

Theresa Johnson was called back for top three

Damarius Kennedy received superior in Costume design AND CONSTRUCTION

Kendall Goff received superior in Set Design

Seniors: Tara Butler, Amanda-Marie Davis, Summer Jones, Eric Kirton, Duke Pierce auditioned for colleges scholarships from Louisiana Colleges and the ITS financial awards.

Loyola, La Tech, LSU, BPCC, and Louisiana College called everyone back.  NSU called back
Tara Butler, Amanda-Marie Davis, Eric Kirton, and Duke Pierce

Tara Butler won first place in Technical Theatre College Scholarships (that comes with a check!)

Amanda-Marie Davis placed 2nd in College Scholarship performance. (It comes with a check!) She performed in the closing ceremonies before the 700 attendees.

Out of 700 6 are chosen for STO state Board. Carter Rimmer is the State Rep for 2018-19.  This is the  13th year to have a Magnet student on the Board.
Brody Tolliver and Zoe Walker came in third in Tech Challenge.
Sarah Lord was second in Theatre Trivia.
JUNIOR, Damarius Kennedy, so impressed the judges with her costume construction that the costumer at NSU has already offered her a scholarship.  The head of NSU costume department said to me “I know that she will get many offers at Nationals but I really want her!”

The other students attended workshops, enjoyed a dance, and watched performances from around the state.  I received many compliments on the excellent behavior of our students.


Centenary High School Theatre Festival -was a success!  Hats off to Student Director, Duke Pierce who directed Down Came the Rain with actors Brody Tolliver and Carter Rimmer.  They won 1st place for performance piece!  

Check this out How Theatre Arts Benefit Our Youth and Community

This Year’s UPDATED Calendar of Important dates: Important dates 2017-18 pdf




Caddo Magnet Players

Parent and Community Support

$2,500 – The Martin Family Private Holdings, LP

$1500 The Leigh Henderson Family

 Producer $500 and Above

 Bossier Surgical Associates *  Brock’s Collision Center  *  Echologic-Consulting, LLC

Dr. & Mrs. Arthur T. Fort  *  The Holoubeks Elizabeth Hutchinson Horne *Hummingbird, King, and Butler CPAs  *The Johnson Family  *  The Family of Brinn McDonald  *Muslow Insurance   *   Margaret Ann Newman *  Richardson Auto Glass   *   The Tolliver Family  *  Amy Windham – The Windham Ranch LTD

Director $250 – $499

Terri and Christina Bush * Dick and Clara Hemmings  *  Marshall Herbert   *  Jennifer and Trey Jackson  * Rob & Rita King   * Greg and Bonnie Martin   *   The McFarland Family *    Jason and Karen Merritt  *  People Matters  *   Carol Windham – The Windham Ranch LTD *  Julie Zadeck

 Stage Manager $150 – $249

Tara Elizabeth Butler   * Parents and Grandparents of Jackson Gilchrist Steve Jones & Ellen Scott     *Louisiana Lift and Equipment, Inc.  *    The Lew Ross Family   * Michael Staggs

Crew Head $100 – $149

Julia & Will Andress   * Anonymous  *  Melody & Sawyer Ballew  *  Jason & Emily Bottrell   *  Ronald D. Brandon   *  Drs. Keith & Ali Brown   *  Kayla Cason *    Eddie and Jana Conrad   *  Chianti Restaurant   *   Cosse Orthodontics     *  Meredith and Terri Fisher *  The parents and grandparents of Jackson Gilchrist   *    Judy K     *   The McCray Family   *The Nix Family  *   George O’Donnell   *   Charles Salley   *  Barbel (Omi) Shaye  *  South Shreveport Animal Hospital    * The Staggs Family  *  The Walker Family

House Manager $50 – $99

Bobby Brannon Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC   *  Brad Campbell and Steven Galbraith

Mary Fletcher   *  Larry Hand, DDS   * Glenda & David Johnson      *    Summer Jones     *  Sambo and Melissa Rhodes  * Lisa & Makenzie Rogers   *  Dianne & Jimmy Maynor

 Usher $25 – $49

The Anderson Family   *   Cynthia Anderson   *   Libby Andress, Travel Agent & Lucy Engman  

  Evy R. Arnie   *   Magnus Bane   *  Dartagnan Bennett   *   Mary Black  *  Mrs. Yvonne Busby   *    The Haynes Family   *   J Street & C Dopson  *  Jennifer Hemmings  *Logan & Sara Jarecki   *   Sangbahn Y. Scere, Attorney and Counselor at Law  *  Arabella Touchstone  *     Ray and Dana Tudor   *  Robert Trudeau   *   Mrs. Maudie Woodruff


Leave your comment